Maldon is an historic maritime and market town of some 15,000 people in the County of Essex, situated on the Blackwater estuary. It is an ancient Anglo-Saxon burgh that was granted a Royal Charter by Henry II in 1171. From the Iron Age, it has been settled by the Romans, Saxons, Vikings and Normans and is the site of the famous Battle of Maldon fought between Vikings and the native Anglo-Saxons in 991AD. Today, Maldon is world famous for many things, such as the Maldon Mud race run in May, Maldon salt and the Thames barges that still sail from the Hythe.

Maldon’s Heritage venues have worked together to present a week of activities for all ages, with support from Maldon Town Council.

Thomas Plume’s Library was founded in 1704 under the terms of Dr Plume’s will. He bequeathed to his native town his collection of some 8,100 books and pamphlets, to be kept in a building which he had constructed from the ruins of the old St Peter’s Church in the centre of the town. It remains a working Library to this day, some 2,000 books having been added to the original collection.

7th – 9th Aug 2pm – 4pm, 11th Aug 10am – noon
Access: RESTRICTED via steep and narrow spiral staircase
Max 12 people at any one time
Entry: Free

Housed against and beneath the old tower of the medieval Church of St Peter, the Heritage Centre is home to the nationally renowned Maldon Millennium Embroidery, artefacts and information of local archaeological interest, the Maldon Society archives, exhibitions of works by local artists and a gift shop. Visitors are recommended to explore St Peter’s churchyard, which incorporates an attractive layout of paths, flowers beds and interpretation boards. 7th – 11th Aug 11am – 4pm Entry: Free
This Grade 1 listed Church with its unique triangular tower has a beautifully designed 13th century shingled spire with eight bell ropes. The Church is open for visitors to see its famous Washington Window. Outside the church are statues commemorating St Mellitus, St Cedd Earl Byrhtnoth, Robert D’Arcy and Dr Thomas Plume. In front of the church is the Grade II listed Water Trough which commemorates the life of Lucy Hicks, a local Quaker. The town’s war memorial was funded by public subscription. Daily: 10am – 3pm
Maldon’s Moot Hall is among the earliest decorated brick buildings in Essex and has served as a police station, courthouse and council chamber. Guides will be on hand to explain the history of the building. Come and hear the story of Captain Ann and the Maldon Grain Riots of 1629. Meet the Town Mayor in the Mayor’s Parlour in her robes and regalia on 11th August 11am – 12.30pm. 9th – 11th Aug Tours between 11am – 12.30pm, Access: RESTRICTED. Upper floors via a steep spiral staircase Entry: Adults £4, Conc £3, children (5-16) £2, under 5’s free
This attractive site was formerly part of a garden which was the pride and joy of two local sisters, Edna and Joan Leech, who lived opposite. Sadly both sisters were killed in an air crash in 1971 and their garden was left to the people of Maldon in their will. The garden features a wide range of native and ornamental trees, and is maintained by the Friends of Leech Memorial Garden. Guided tours of the garden between 10am – 1pm on Thursday Open daily during daylight hours 9th Aug: Guided tours @ 10am, 11am, and 12 noon Access: Grassy, uneven surface, not suitable for wheelchairs Entry: Free
Come aboard Brent, the last surviving steam vessel of the Port of London Authority’s fleet and learn all about her fascinating history 7th and 11th Aug Exhibition and talks 11am – 1pm, 1.30pm – 4.30pm Access: RESTRICTED on board below decks Entry: Free
Maldon Museum holds a fascinating collection reflecting the social, domestic and industrial history of Maldon and the surrounding district, and provides a wonderful insight into Maldon’s maritime past. Lots of children’s activities. 8th, 10th, 11th Aug: 2pm – 5pm 12th Aug: 11am – 5pm Access: Disabled access to ground floor only. Film coverage of other exhibits Entry: Adult (18+) £2; free admission child under 17 accompanied by an adult
Children’s Day – A fun and educational experience aboard “Pudge” for all children age 5 – 11, learning to be a bargeman Art activities – help raise the foresail – learn to tie knots – understand the tools used by the bargemen, explore the barge above and below deck with an activity pack. 9th Aug: 11am – 5pm Entry: Free (donations are welcome) all children must be accompanied by an adult
Known as the Fisherman’s Church as its tower serves as a mariner’s beacon for boats coming up the River Blackwater. The Church dates back to 1130 but there is archaeological evidence dating back to Roman Times. A stained glass window design is based on the dying prayer of the Earl Byrhtnoth, which gives thanks for the joy in his life. 6th – 12th Aug: Open during daylight hours
Explore the history of this former Water Pumping Station which contains a fascinating collection of heritage industrial machinery and tools, working overhead machine shop and largest working steam pump in 8th – 12th Aug: 10am – 4pm Access: wheelchair accessible Entry: Adults £5; Conc £4.50; Child 5-15 inc £2; under 5’s Free. 8th Aug: Summer Fun Mad Science and Art 9th Aug: DOT Theatre Co “A Woman of No Importance” @ 7.30pm 10th Aug: The Power of Chocolate Workshops 12th Aug: BOOK FAIR
Discover the secret world of spies, their weapons, gadgets and disguises. Learn about WW2’s Special Operation Executive (S.O.E) and about British Special Forces and their brave and daring operations. See stunning displays of uniforms; be astonished by one of Europe’s largest public displays of firearms. Squirm at battlefield medical equipment; learn the personal stories behind the medals and read intimate diary accounts of British soldiers. Dress up in armour; carry equipment of today’s soldiers. See tanks, swords, armour and much, much more! 8th – 12th Aug: 10.30am – 5pm Access: Wheelchair accessible Entry: Adult £5.75; OAP £4.75; Child £4; Family £18
Lunchtime Concert by organist James Devor. Refreshments 12.15pm – 3pm. Limited Parking at church. 9th Aug: Concert 1pm – 2pm Entry: free, donations welcome
13. St Giles Leper Hospital, Spital Road, CM9 6EA Remains of an anciet leper hospital founded, it is said, in 1164, by Henry II. St Giles is a unique survival of only ten medieval hsopitals recorded in Essex and is of national importance. Not normally open to the general public, stewards will be on hand to explain the significance of the monument. 8th Aug: 10am – 4pm Access: Grassy, uneven surface, not suitable for wheelchairs Directions: Spital Road, approx 20 mins walk from the town centre.